Quotations for you and me

Words can be powerful tools to spread joy, powerful weapons to destroy and they are free to us all. I thought I’d share with you a selection of my favourite quotations (there are way too many to list in just one post!).They’re here because some of them make me think, others make me reflect and all of them make me smile – I hope they can do the same for you.

“Life isn’t fair, it’s just fairer than death, that’s all.”
― William Goldman, The Princess Bride

“If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.”
― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

“I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.”
― Marilyn Monroe

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”
― Dr. Seuss

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”
― Maya Angelou

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”
― Martin Luther King Jr., A Testament of Hope: The Essential Writings and Speeches

“The flower that blooms in adversity is the rarest and most beautiful of all.”
― Walt Disney Company, Mulan

“If you’re reading this…
Congratulations, you’re alive.
If that’s not something to smile about,
then I don’t know what is.”
― Chad Sugg, Monsters Under Your Head

“It’s not the load that breaks you down, it’s the way you carry it.”
― Lou Holtz

“The things you do for yourself are gone when you are gone, but the things you do for others remain as your legacy.”
― Kalu Ndukwe Kalu

“I always have a quotation for everything – it saves original thinking.” ― Dorothy L. Sayer

TLR

2 thoughts on “Quotations for you and me

Leave a comment

